Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Parans Paranthaman

Chemical Sciences Division, ORNL


Dr. Mariappan Parans Paranthaman is a Distinguished Corporate Fellow and a Group Leader of Materials Chemistry at the Chemical Sciences Division at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), a Distinguished UT-Battelle Inventor at ORNL, and fellows of the Materials Research Society (MRS), AAAS, American Ceramic Society, ASM International and the Institute of Physics, London, UK. He has a joint faculty appointment with the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Bredesen Center as a Professor since 2010. He earned his PhD degree in solid state chemistry and materials science from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras in 1988. He was a postdoctoral fellow with Professor John Goodenough (1988-1991) at the University of Texas, Austin, Center for Materials Science and Engineering and a research associate with Professor Allen Hermann (1991-1993) at the superconductivity laboratories, Department of Physics at the University of Colorado, Boulder. He joined the Chemistry Department at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory in May 1993.  He was named the Lockheed-Martin scientist of the year in 1997. He has authored or co-authored more than 400 journal publications with an “h-index” of 59 (Google scholar citation) and 63 inventions including issued 35 U.S. Patents and 28 U.S. Patent Applications/inventions related to superconductivity, energy storage and solar cells. He has commercialized and licensed his technologies to six companies. He ranked #2 in worldwide citations in the high temperature superconductivity research in the last decade (1999-2009). He was a guest editor for the MRS Bulletin; August 2004 issue featured high temperature superconductors. He has also co-edited several books and co-organized several conferences and workshops. He has won several awards including DOE outstanding mentor awards, six R&D 100 Awards and three National and two Regional Federal Laboratory Consortium (FLC) Awards for developing high performance second-generation superconducting wires for electric-power applications and flexible thin film crystalline Silicon photovoltaics on RABiTS. Since 2004, he is serving as the associate editor for the Journal of American Ceramic Society.

His present research focuses on the development of radiation resistant polymer composites, coated conductors, additive manufacturing of permanent magnets, lithium separation from geothermal brine, recovery of carbon composite anodes from recycled tires and energy storage materials.


Full CV available: Paranthaman Full CV

Google Scholar Profile: Parans Paranthaman



List of Selected Publications

Y. Li, S. Wan, G.M. Veith, R.R. Unocic, M.P. Paranthaman, S. Dai, and X.G. Sun, “A Novel Electrolyte Salt Additive for Lithium-Ion Batteries with Voltages Greater than 4.7 V,” Adv. Energy Mater. 7, 1601397 (2017). DOI: 10.1002/aenm.201601397


J.S. Zhang, J.A. Schott, Y. Li, W.C. Zhan, S.M. Mahurin, K. Nelson, X.G. Sun, M.P. Paranthaman, and S. Dai, “Membrane-Based Gas Separation Accelerated by Hollow Nanosphere Architectures,” Adv. Mater. 29, 1603797 (2017). DOI: 10.1002/adma.201603797


L. Li, A. Tirado, I.C. Nlebedim, O.Rios, B. Post, V. Kunc, R.R. Lowden, E. Lara-Curzio, R. Fredette, J. Ormerod, T.A. Lograsso, and M.P. Paranthaman, “Big Area Additive Manufacturing of High Performance Bonded NdFeB Magnets,” Scientific Reports 6, 36212 (2016). DOI: 10.1038/srep36212  


M. Boota, M. Parans Paranthaman, Amit K. Naskar, Yunchao Li, Kokouvi Akato, and Y. Gogotsi, “Highly flexible and conductive waste tire-derived carbon/polymer composite paper as ultra-long cycle life pseudocapacitive electrode,” ChemSusChem (2015). DOI: 10.1002/cssc.201500866.


Amit K. Naskar, Zhonghe Bi, Yunchao Li, Sam K. Akato, Dipendu Saha, Miaofang Chi, Craig A. Bridges and M. Parans Paranthaman, “Tailored recovery of carbons from waste tires for enhanced performance as anodes in lithium-ion batteries,” RSC Adv., 2014, 4, 38213.


Jinshui Zhang, Ying Bai, Xiao-Guang Sun, Yunchao Li, Bingkun Guo, Jihua Chen, Gabriel M. Veith, Dale K. Hensley, Mariappan Parans Paranthaman, John B. Goodenough, and Sheng Dai, “Superior Conductive Solid-like Electrolytes: Nanoconfining Liquids within the Hollow Structures”, Nano Lett., 2015; DOI: 10.1021/acs.nanolett.5b00739.


Jeen, H.; Bi, Z. H.; Choi, W. S.; Chisholm, M. F.; Bridges, C. A.; Paranthaman, M. P.; Lee, H. N., 'Orienting Oxygen Vacancies for Fast Catalytic Reaction.' Adv. Mater. 2013, 25, (44), 6459-6463.


Teplin, C.W.; Paranthaman, M.P.; Fanning, T.R.; Alberi, K.; Heatherly, L.; Wee, S.H.; Kim, K.; List, F.A.; Pineau, J.; Bornstein, J.; Bowers, K.; Lee, D.F.; Cantoni, C.; Hane, S.; Schroeter, P.; Young, D.L.; Iwaniczko, E.; Jones, K.M.; Branz, H.M. Heteroepitaxial film crystal silicon on Al2O3: new route to inexpensive crystal silicon photovoltaics, Energy & Environmental Science 2011, 4, 3346-3350.


Liu, H.S.; Bi, Z.H.; Sun, X.G.; Unocic, R.R.; Paranthaman, M.P.; Dai, S.; Brown, G.M. Mesoporous TiO2-B Microspheres with Superior Rate Performance for Lithium Ion Batteries, Adv. Mater. 2011, 23, 3450.


Zhu, W.; Qiu, X.; Lancu, V.; Chen, X.; Pan, H.; Wang, W.; Dimitrijevic, N.; Rajh, T.; Meyer, H.M.; Paranthaman, M.P.; Stocks, G.M.; Weitering, H.; Gu, B.; Eres, G.; Zhang, Z. Bandgap narrowing of titanium oxide semiconductors by non-compensated anion-cation codoping for enhanced visible-light photoactivity, Phys. Rev. Lett. 2009,103, 226401.


Kang, S.; Goyal, A.; Li, J.; Gapud, A.A.; Martin, P.M.; Heatherly, L.; Thompson, J.R.; Christen, D.K.; List, F.A.; Paranthaman, M.P.; Lee, D.F. High-performance high-T-c superconducting wires, Science, 2006, 311, 1911-1914.


Paranthaman, M.P.; Izumi, T.  High-Performance YBCO-Coated Superconductor Wires, MRS Bulletin, 2004, 29 (8), 533-536.


Paranthaman, M.P.;  Cantoni, C.; Zhai, H.Y.; Christen, H.M.; Aytug, T.; Sathyamurthy, S.; Specht, E.D.; Thompson, J.R.; Lowndes, D.H.; Kerchner, H.R.; Christen, D.K.  Superconducting MgB2 Films via Precursor Post processing approach, Appl. Phys. Lett. 2001, 78, 3669-2671.


Norton, D.P.; Goyal, A.; Budai, J.D.; Christen, D.K.; Kroeger, D.M.; Specht, E.D.; He, Q.; Saffian, B.; Paranthaman, M.P.; Klabunde, C.E.; Lee, D.F.; Sales, B.C.; List, F.A.  Epitaxial YBa2Cu3O7 on Biaxially-Textured (001) Ni:  An Approach to High Critical Current Density Superconducting Tapes, Science 1996, 274, 755-757.

Contact Information