Skip to content


Dr. Lee Riedinger

Bredesen Center Director

Dr. Lee Riedinger is a Professor of Physics at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, on the faculty since 1971. He received a Ph.D. from Vanderbilt University in 1968.

Read More



Dr. Michael Simpson

Bredesen Center Assistant Director

Dr. Michael L. Simpson received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville in 1991. He started his research life as an Electrical Engineer, but followed the call of interdisciplinary research to the boundaries between life, computational, and physical sciences.

Read More


Dr. Russell Zaretzki

DSE Program Director

Dr. Russell Zaretzki is an Associate Professor with the Haslam College of Business. He earned a Ph.D. in Statistics from Cornell University and has been on the UT Faculty since 2004.

Read More




Administrative Staff

Rebecca Christ

Accounting Specialist I


Wanda Davis

Business Manager

Wanda Davis is the assistant to the director and Business Manager for the Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education. Wanda moved to Tennessee from San Antonio, Texas and currently resides in Maryville, Tennessee.

Read More



Erin Favier

Administrative Specialist

Erin Favier is an Administrative Specialist for the Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education. Erin has worked at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville since 2016.

Read More



Jessica Garner


Jessica began working at the University of Tennessee in 2015. Prior to joining The Bredesen Center she worked four years at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory supporting researchers and technicians at the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences.

Read More



The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.